Dept. of Biochemistry of Biomembranes

Department consists of three laboratories: Laboratory of Membrane Biogenesis, Laboratory of Cell Cycle and Laboratory of Biosensors.

Laboratory of Membrane Biogenesis

CL-deficient mutants exhibit flat sheets
The main interest of the laboratory is to study processes by which eukaryotic cells regulate lipid composition of their membranes. We are aimed to understand the mechanisms of action of anti-sterol antimycotics and especially the mechanisms of resistance towards these drugs. In the yeasts Saccharomyces cerevisiae and Schizosaccharomyces pombe as model eukaryotic organisms we study how defects in lipid metabolism lead to disturbance of cellular functions involved in development of serious human diseases. Important part of our research is oriented towards production of valuable lipid compounds in yeast.

Laboratory of Cell Cycle

The Laboratory of Cell Cycle focuses on the study of chromosomal segregation during meiosis using the yeast Schizosaccharomyces pombe as a model eukaryotic organism. We are particularly interested in proteins involved in homologous recombination and karyogamy. By studying these proteins we seek to discover how their dysfunction can lead to various diseases such as Down Syndrom or cancer in humans. More information about Laboratory of cell cycle.

 

Name / PositionE-mailPhone
Bábelová, Lenka RNDr., PhD.
Lenka.Svobodova@savba.sk02/32293803
Bágeľová Poláková, Silvia Mgr., PhD.
Silvia.Bagelova@savba.sk02/32293824
Bakošová, Anetta Mgr., PhD.
researcher
Anetta.Bakosova@savba.sk02/32293825
Balážová, Mária Mgr., PhD.
Maria.Balazova@savba.sk02/32293823
Ďurišová, Ivana Mgr.
PhD. student
Ivana.Durisova@savba.sk02/32293820
Garaiová, Martina Mgr., PhD.
martina.garaiova@savba.sk02/32293822
Griač, Peter RNDr., DrSc.
Peter.Griac@savba.sk02/32293821
Holič, Roman Mgr., PhD.
researcher
roman.holic@savba.sk02/32293824
Kostolanská, Marta
Krajčiová, Daniela Mgr.
PhD student
Daniela.Krajciova@savba.sk02/32293825
Levík, Jaroslav Mgr.
technician
Jaroslav.Levik@savba.sk
Pevalová, Zuzana Mgr., PhD.
zuzana.pevalova@savba.sk02/ 3229 3825
Pokorná, Lucia Ing., PhD.
lucia.pokorna@savba.sk02/32293825
Stupeňová, Erika Ing.
PhD. student
Erika.Stupenova@savba.sk02/32293825
Šťastný, Dominik , M.Sc.
Dominik.Stastny@savba.sk02/32293820
Tahotná, Dana RNDr., CSc.
Danka.Tahotna@savba.sk02/32293823
Valachovič, Martin Mgr., PhD.
head of department
Martin.Valachovic@savba.sk02/32293822
Zriniová, Ingrid Mgr.
ingrid.zriniova@savba.sk02/32293820