Dept. of Physiology and Ethology

Laboratory of Physiology and Etology

broiler breedersAvian physiology and ethology are important components of basic and applied research. Applied avian physiology is connected mainly with poultry and is used for further development of the poultry industry. Currently agriculture is heading towards the transition from a highly efficient and profitable production to the production of “healthy products”.
This transition is faced with increasing public interest, changes in EU legislation, and are associated with poultry welfare issues as a problem specific to poultry research. The laboratory is focused on the use of combined physiological, neurobiological and behavioral approach in the study of hormones, neurotransmitters and their receptors in birds in the context of their behaviour. International recognition of our results in the research of behaviour and welfare of poultry is illustrated by numerous international cooperations with institutes such as. Scottish Agricultural College in the UK, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences in Sweden and the University of Maryland, USA. This cooperation resulted in several joint research projects and publications.

Laboratory of Neurobiology

The aim of our work dopaminove receptory v slepacom mozgu is to understand the molecular mechanisms of neuronal circuits that are essential for creating, modifying and maintaining complex behaviors such as speech and vocal learning. In our group we use an approach that integrates behavioral, anatomical and molecular biology techniques with non-invasive magnetic resonance imaging. The main models are songbirds, which are one of the few animal models that can learn and imitate sounds. Currently we are focusing on the study of basal ganglia function for learned vocal communication.

Our collaborators:
Dr. Erich D. Jarvis na Duke University, USA
Dr. Tom Smulders na Newcastle University, Great Britain
Dr. Annemie van der Linden, University of Antwerp, Belgium
Dr. Katharina Riebel, Leiden University, The Netherlands.

 

 

Laboratory of Avian Embryology and Cell Cultures

quail embryo
We can see in experimental practice more frequent use of avian embryos as a replacement of mammalian models. Dense capillary network of chorioallantoic membrane (CAM) is suitable for the study of tumor angiogenesis and antivascular therapy. CAM is structurally similar to the retina, lung and placenta, as well as tissue of blood-brain barrier. Our laboratory using the Japanese quail CAM model for the study of cancer angiogenesis, photodynamic diagnosis and therapy as wel as for the development of new biophotonic techniques.

Equipment: Bios MIDI hatchery, Incubator Binder BF 115, CO2 incubator ESCO CCL-0508, Canon 5D II camera, macro lens MP-E 65 mm, Ocean Optics diode laser 405 nm, 150 mW

 

 

Name / Position E-mail Phone
Antalíková, Jana RNDr., PhD.
head of department
Jana.Antalikova@savba.sk 02/ 3229 3834
Bartóková, Michaela Mgr.
michaela.bartokova@savba.sk
Bilčík, Boris RNDr., PhD.
researcher
Boris.Bilcik@savba.sk 02/ 3229 3830
Čavarga, Ivan MUDr., PhD.
cavarga.ivan@gmail.com 02/ 3229 3830
Géci, Vladimír
Vladimir.Geci@savba.sk 02/ 3229 3814
Horovská, Ľubica Ing.
Lubica.Horovska@savba.sk 02/ 3229 3833
Jankovičová, Jana Ing., PhD.
Jana.Jankovicova@savba.sk 02/ 3229 3834
Košťál, Ľubor RNDr., CSc.
Chair of the Organizational Part
Lubor.Kostal@savba.sk 02/ 3229 3801
Kundeková, Barbora Mgr.
barbora.kundekova@savba.sk
Lukáčová, Kristína Mgr., PhD., PhD.
researcher
Kristina.Lukacova@savba.sk 02/ 322 93 831
Máčajová, Mariana Mgr., PhD.
Mariana.Macajova@savba.sk 02/ 3229 3832
Michalková, Katarína Ing., PhD.
Katarina.Fabryova@savba.sk 02/ 3229 3833
Niederová, Ľubica Mgr., PhD.
Lubica.Niederova@savba.sk 02/ 3229 3832
Ostrolucká, Dominika Mgr.
Dominika.Kubaliakova@savba.sk 02/32293835
Pavuková, Eva Mgr., PhD.
Eva.Bosikova@savba.sk 02/ 3229 3831
Pichová, Katarína Mgr., PhD.
researcher
Katarina.Pichova@savba.sk 02/ 3229 3831
Polomová, Justína Mgr.
Justina.Polomova@savba.sk 02/ 3229 3835
Sečová, Petra Ing., PhD.
Petra.Secova@savba.sk 02/ 3229 3833
Simon, Michal Ing., DrSc.
head of department
Michal.Simon@savba.sk 02/ 3229 3836
Skalná, Zuzana Mgr.
PhD. student
zuzana.skalna@savba.sk 02/32293835
Zeman, Michal Prof. RNDr., DrSc.
Michal.Zeman@savba.sk